CHRISTMAS OFFER Subscribe to Hampshire Life today click here

A forest Oasis - Restaurant review on Little Mere in North Gorley

PUBLISHED: 17:52 02 July 2010 | UPDATED: 17:29 20 February 2013

A forest Oasis - Restaurant review on Little Mere in North Gorley

A forest Oasis - Restaurant review on Little Mere in North Gorley

Little Mere in North Gorley may look quaint and traditional from the outside, but its interior and menu promise fine dining delights

As we neared the Little Mere Restaurant in the picturesque New Forest village of North Gorley, the sun was slowly sinking, casting picturesque shadows across the village green. By the side of the road, ponies, cows and even a couple of donkeys lazily munched on the grass oblivious to their human observers.
This was certainly to be an evening to remember. Upon our arrival, we were greeted with a pleasant smile and we sipped our drinks in the conservatory while perusing the menu (which changes every five or six weeks or so).
The choice was varied, approximately six starters, mains and desserts, but eventually we decided upon seared scallops and cream of leek and pea soup to follow our canaps, along with which I chose to try the homemade bread delicious.
For those who have not visited Little Mere previously, the restaurant is just part of a wider set up (tearooms, restaurant and bed and breakfast).
This offers a unique way to cater for all visitors to the New Forest and is obviously very popular. Opened in December 2004 Little Mere is clearly a local favourite and I can see why. Head chef Simon Reed has created a wonderful selection of dishes that are as pleasing to the eye as they are to taste.


Plenty of passion
I chose the fillets of Poole Bay plaice, deep fried in Japanese breadcrumbs and served with smoked chilli jam, while my wife was full of admiration for her pan seared gilt head bream dish with sauted crayfish tails. Again, the presentation of both matched the taste, with flavours swapping places on the palate with every mouthful. All the vegetables were also cooked to perfection, something that a number of restaurants now tend to overlook.
There is clearly a passion for food that comes from the kitchen and the attention to detail of each dish, and the subtle blending of flavours really was a stand out feature of the entire meal. Other main dishes on offer included breast of organic fed chicken; tomato, spinach and goats cheese galette; tournedos of British fillet steak with chasseur sauce or braised Hampshire lamb hot pot.
With the restaurant now starting to fill, the attentive staff helped to create an atmosphere akin to dining with friends. This we both felt was helped by the intimate feel of the restaurant, where clearly those around us were regular diners at Little Mere, perhaps North Gorleys best-kept secret!


Delectable dessert
Having rested for a short while, it was time to look again at the dessert menu and the choice was no less difficult. Eventually my wifes love of strawberry mousse tian with clotted cream won the day and I couldnt resist the thought of a white chocolate and raspberry ganache tart with savoury raspberries. I have to say that it was simply the most delicious dessert that I have tasted in years, though I could so easily have opted for the mango and passionfruit cheesecake........another weakness!
Manager Nikki Robson can rightly be very proud of Little Mere, which many will have passed without realising the standards of excellence that she and her team have created within. The website suggests that advance bookings are made due to the number of covers available and given the local interest too, I can understand why.
By the time we left after coffees, the animals we had chanced upon on our arrival had all long since retired for the night, but like them well be back to this little oasis in the New Forest.
In truth, I had never heard of North Gorley before, despite being a Hampshire resident for many years, but whether you are looking to finish off a perfect day in the forest or you simply appreciate wonderful food then a visit is a must.


Book your table
Little Mere Restaurant
Ringwood Road
North Gorley
SP6 2PB
Tel. 01425 657628
www.littlemere.com

0 comments

More from Food & Drink

Yesterday, 16:23

Give your loved ones a tasty gift they won’t forget this festive season.

Read more
Tuesday, October 10, 2017

The 2017 Hampshire Life Food & Drink Awards are almost here, with the ceremony taking place at The Elvetham Hotel on 22 November. We’re delighted to announce our finalists…

Read more
Tuesday, October 10, 2017

Every Monday at the Farmhouse choose any 2 courses for £18.95 or any 3 courses for £22.95 of any of our menus.

Read more
Monday, October 9, 2017

Whether you’re looking for fine dining, pub food, a romantic meal for 2 or a taste of something from further afield, eating out in Hampshire really has something for everyone. Here’s our guide to the best local restaurants and pubs

Read more
Monday, September 25, 2017

Join Venetian chef Daniele Turco, Executive Chef at The Gritti Palace in Venice, for a unique Italian cookery class.

Read more
Thursday, September 14, 2017

Buy one Freshly baked artisan pizza and receive a second free of charge!

Read more
Monday, September 11, 2017

Join Sali who will be talking nothing but beauty and will answer all of your beauty problems.

Read more
Friday, September 8, 2017

With over 35 Gins it would be rude not to launch Gin Club!

Read more
Wednesday, September 6, 2017

Join Chewton Glen on the 9th December 2017 for a delightful 3 course Christmas Lunch with Champagne.

Read more
Tuesday, September 5, 2017

One of the great English traditions is of course afternoon tea. And where better to take it than in one of England’s very first country house hotels?

Read more
Tuesday, September 5, 2017

Three course lunch for just £26.50 Monday - Sunday at Chewton Glen.

Read more
Monday, September 4, 2017

Join Chewton Glen on Monday 2nd October for their special event with Gyles Brandreth

Read more
Thursday, August 31, 2017

This is your chance to vote and support Hampshire’s finest food and drink businesses. Following the overwhelming success of last year’s awards, we are delighted to launch the 2017 Hampshire Life Food and Drink Awards

Read more
Tuesday, August 29, 2017

Deep below the Test Valley, natural mineral water is waiting to begin its journey to tables around the globe. Viv Micklefield meets the royally appointed company bringing about a refreshing change to our drinking habits

Read more
 
Pure Weddings advert link
 
South West Life advert link
 
A+ South & South West
 
Great British Holidays advert link

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Topics of Interest

Food and Drink Directory

Subscribe or buy a mag today


subscription ad
Hampshire Life Application Link

Local Business Directory

Hampshire's trusted business finder

Job search in your local area



Property Search

Search For a Car In Your Area