<div style="display:inline;"> <img height="1" width="1" style="border-style:none;" alt="" src="//googleads.g.doubleclick.net/pagead/viewthroughconversion/1028731116/?value=0&amp;guid=ON&amp;script=0">
12 ISSUES FOR £24 Subscribe to Hampshire Life today click here

A forest Oasis - Restaurant review on Little Mere in North Gorley

PUBLISHED: 17:52 02 July 2010 | UPDATED: 17:29 20 February 2013

A forest Oasis - Restaurant review on Little Mere in North Gorley

A forest Oasis - Restaurant review on Little Mere in North Gorley

Little Mere in North Gorley may look quaint and traditional from the outside, but its interior and menu promise fine dining delights

As we neared the Little Mere Restaurant in the picturesque New Forest village of North Gorley, the sun was slowly sinking, casting picturesque shadows across the village green. By the side of the road, ponies, cows and even a couple of donkeys lazily munched on the grass oblivious to their human observers.
This was certainly to be an evening to remember. Upon our arrival, we were greeted with a pleasant smile and we sipped our drinks in the conservatory while perusing the menu (which changes every five or six weeks or so).
The choice was varied, approximately six starters, mains and desserts, but eventually we decided upon seared scallops and cream of leek and pea soup to follow our canaps, along with which I chose to try the homemade bread delicious.
For those who have not visited Little Mere previously, the restaurant is just part of a wider set up (tearooms, restaurant and bed and breakfast).
This offers a unique way to cater for all visitors to the New Forest and is obviously very popular. Opened in December 2004 Little Mere is clearly a local favourite and I can see why. Head chef Simon Reed has created a wonderful selection of dishes that are as pleasing to the eye as they are to taste.


Plenty of passion
I chose the fillets of Poole Bay plaice, deep fried in Japanese breadcrumbs and served with smoked chilli jam, while my wife was full of admiration for her pan seared gilt head bream dish with sauted crayfish tails. Again, the presentation of both matched the taste, with flavours swapping places on the palate with every mouthful. All the vegetables were also cooked to perfection, something that a number of restaurants now tend to overlook.
There is clearly a passion for food that comes from the kitchen and the attention to detail of each dish, and the subtle blending of flavours really was a stand out feature of the entire meal. Other main dishes on offer included breast of organic fed chicken; tomato, spinach and goats cheese galette; tournedos of British fillet steak with chasseur sauce or braised Hampshire lamb hot pot.
With the restaurant now starting to fill, the attentive staff helped to create an atmosphere akin to dining with friends. This we both felt was helped by the intimate feel of the restaurant, where clearly those around us were regular diners at Little Mere, perhaps North Gorleys best-kept secret!


Delectable dessert
Having rested for a short while, it was time to look again at the dessert menu and the choice was no less difficult. Eventually my wifes love of strawberry mousse tian with clotted cream won the day and I couldnt resist the thought of a white chocolate and raspberry ganache tart with savoury raspberries. I have to say that it was simply the most delicious dessert that I have tasted in years, though I could so easily have opted for the mango and passionfruit cheesecake........another weakness!
Manager Nikki Robson can rightly be very proud of Little Mere, which many will have passed without realising the standards of excellence that she and her team have created within. The website suggests that advance bookings are made due to the number of covers available and given the local interest too, I can understand why.
By the time we left after coffees, the animals we had chanced upon on our arrival had all long since retired for the night, but like them well be back to this little oasis in the New Forest.
In truth, I had never heard of North Gorley before, despite being a Hampshire resident for many years, but whether you are looking to finish off a perfect day in the forest or you simply appreciate wonderful food then a visit is a must.


Book your table
Little Mere Restaurant
Ringwood Road
North Gorley
SP6 2PB
Tel. 01425 657628
www.littlemere.com

0 comments

More from Food & Drink

Monday, May 15, 2017

Whether you’re looking for fine dining, pub food, a romantic meal for 2 or a taste of something from further afield, eating out in Hampshire really has something for everyone. Here’s our guide to the best local restaurants and pubs

Read more
Monday, May 15, 2017

From Border Collies and Bull Terriers to Poodles and Pugs, we’re a nation of dog lovers and as the weather warms up, what could be better than a good walk ending in a dog-friendly pub? Claire Pitcher reports

Read more
Friday, May 12, 2017

Sample the delicious delights of our award-winning Afternoon Tea this May and June at the Montagu Arms Hotel and enjoy 3 for the price of 2.

Read more
Monday, May 8, 2017

Now celebrating its fourth year, the Fleet Food Festival promises to be bigger and better than ever. Viv Micklefield samples what’s on the menu later this month

Read more
Thursday, May 4, 2017

Prepare to feel hungry as we bring you a dish that’s meaty, zingy and delicious, with built-in vodka

Read more
Thursday, April 20, 2017

When it comes to dream jobs, Kerry Witt has hit the naughty but nice jackpot. The pastry chef turned New Forest chocolatier spills the (cacao) beans on her confections to Faith Eckersall

Read more

Ad Feature: Purbani Botley

Thursday, April 13, 2017

The Purbani situated in the heart of the beautiful village of Botley, Hampshire and is the flagship restaurant in the Purbani chain...

Read more
Monday, April 10, 2017

Let Dad be the King of the Grill, if only for one day...

Read more
Monday, April 10, 2017

This summer Rick Stein and Pop-Up Picture Company will be joining us for a #SunsetCinema series - Rick and his team will be curating a two-course menu that you can enjoy whilst you relax watching a classic film.

Read more
Wednesday, March 29, 2017

After winning the coveted Chef of the Year title at the Hampshire Life Food and Drink Awards, Andrew Du Bourg talks to Emma Caulton

Read more
Friday, March 10, 2017

Join Chewton Glen for lunch in The Dining Room and enjoy a three-course lunch menu for just £26.50.

Read more
Tuesday, February 28, 2017

Now that ‘dry January’ is over and New Year’s resolutions have been banished to the back of the drinks cabinet, it’s time to get re-acquainted with some of Hampshire’s best gin makers and shakers, says Natalie French

Read more
Thursday, February 23, 2017

All you can eat rodizio dining is like nothing you’ve had before!

Read more
Friday, February 17, 2017

Treat yourself to lunch and tea with a visit to one of these fantastic Hampshire tea rooms.

Read more
 
A+ South & South West

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Topics of Interest

Food and Drink Directory

Subscribe or buy a mag today


subscription ad
Hampshire Life Application Link

Local Business Directory

Hampshire's trusted business finder

Job search in your local area



Property Search

Search For a Car In Your Area