12 ISSUES FOR £24 Subscribe to Hampshire Life today click here

Aviator, Farnborough – Restaurant Review

PUBLISHED: 11:38 28 October 2011 | UPDATED: 20:13 20 February 2013

Aviator, Farnborough – Restaurant Review

Aviator, Farnborough – Restaurant Review

Editor Elizabeth Barnett samples this month's latest A la Carte menu from the Food and Drink Awards nominated 'Chef of the year', Andrew Donovan...

Aviator, Farnborough Restaurant Review


Editor Elizabeth Barnett samples this months latest A la Carte menu from the Food and Drink Awards nominated Chef of the year, Andrew Donovan...









The last time I visited the Aviator was when I had just become Editor of Hampshire Life and I was treated to a very warm welcome followed by a beautiful meal in the most perfect setting, overlooking the runway of Farnborough airport. Heading back there this month I must admit I was slightly nervous that my high expectations would lead me to feel disappointed as a humble diner, but as soon as my partner Jon and I were welcomed by reception and shown to our seats, I realised that this was the sort of service everyone was treated to, guest of the hotel or not.



The A la Carte menu was flooded with local and seasonal produce, with many dishes sporting the L symbol to highlight their support for local farming; and when our starters of Jasmin Tea smoked salmon with pickled cucumber and dill mayonnaise and Tiger Prawns with papaya, chilli and coriander salsa arrived, one taste told me that this was no fluke. The flavours were complementary without being over bearing, allowing the quality of the fish and seafood to speak for itself. For our mains, we went for the 10oz Hampshire Ribeye Steak with fat chips, portabello mushrooms, cherry vine tomatoes and triple mustard watercress and the Crispy Pork Belly with braised cheek and champ and caramelised apple sauce, both of which were cooked perfectly. Portion sizes were very generous and the service throughout the meal was second to none. Dessert proved too much for Jon but I went for the Chocolate Pav with honeycomb and roasted nut which was amazingly good. There were some great deals on the dessert menu such as the cheese board and Taylors port for 12 or a dessert and dessert wine for 10. Before the long drive back to Southampton, we headed up to the bar where there was a wide variety of original cocktails and after dinner drinks. Sadly coffee and tea was on the menu for us, but if you have the luxury of a room, then it is a great space to unwind after a long day.


http://www.aviatorfarnborough.co.uk/brasserie

0 comments

More from Food & Drink

Wednesday, June 21, 2017

Enjoy a two-course menu whilst you relax watching a classic film at the Chewton Glen Hotel and Spa.

Read more
Tuesday, June 20, 2017

Enjoy a delicious 3 course lunch including Taittinger Champagne at the Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa.

Read more
Tuesday, June 20, 2017

Whether you’re looking for fine dining, pub food, a romantic meal for 2 or a taste of something from further afield, eating out in Hampshire really has something for everyone. Here’s our guide to the best local restaurants and pubs

Read more
Tuesday, June 20, 2017

The perfect way to get fit whilst having fun!

Read more
Tuesday, June 20, 2017

Enjoy a selection of sharing starters, mains and desserts at the Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa. The perfect way to celebrate the start of summer.

Read more
Monday, June 19, 2017

Come for lunch or dinner in The Kitchen on Tuesday 11th July and be in with a chance of seeing celebrity chef James Martin cooking up a storm!

Read more
Monday, June 19, 2017

Join a small group of wine and food lovers for our Spanish Wine Dinner celebrating wines from “Araex”.

Read more
Monday, June 19, 2017

Create your very own bespoke blended gin at the Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa.

Read more
Wednesday, June 7, 2017

It originates in Japan, but is thriving right here in Hampshire, with one company selling to chefs all over the UK and Europe. Nancy Judge, of Hampshire Fare, reports on the adopted crop that has become a domestic success story

Read more
Monday, May 15, 2017

From Border Collies and Bull Terriers to Poodles and Pugs, we’re a nation of dog lovers and as the weather warms up, what could be better than a good walk ending in a dog-friendly pub? Claire Pitcher reports

Read more
Friday, May 12, 2017

Sample the delicious delights of our award-winning Afternoon Tea this May and June at the Montagu Arms Hotel and enjoy 3 for the price of 2.

Read more
Monday, May 8, 2017

Now celebrating its fourth year, the Fleet Food Festival promises to be bigger and better than ever. Viv Micklefield samples what’s on the menu later this month

Read more
Thursday, May 4, 2017

Prepare to feel hungry as we bring you a dish that’s meaty, zingy and delicious, with built-in vodka

Read more
Thursday, April 20, 2017

When it comes to dream jobs, Kerry Witt has hit the naughty but nice jackpot. The pastry chef turned New Forest chocolatier spills the (cacao) beans on her confections to Faith Eckersall

Read more
 
A+ South & South West

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Topics of Interest

Food and Drink Directory

Subscribe or buy a mag today


subscription ad
Hampshire Life Application Link

Local Business Directory

Hampshire's trusted business finder

Job search in your local area



Property Search

Search For a Car In Your Area