6 ISSUES FOR £6 Subscribe to Hampshire Life today CLICK HERE

StreetSmart 2013 - Hampshire pubs and restaurants raise money for charity this Christmas

PUBLISHED: 13:23 25 October 2013 | UPDATED: 14:06 25 October 2013

Hampshire pubs and restaurants raise money for charity this Christmas

Hampshire pubs and restaurants raise money for charity this Christmas

Archant

Here at Hampshire Life we are delighted to be backing the StreetSmart Campaign for the second consecutive year.

Last year StreetSmart pubs/restaurants raised £17,000 for those most vulnerable to homelessness in Hampshire.

Dee Russell, Campaign Manager for Hampshire and Fundraiser for the Society of St James says, “£17,000 represents the size of our ‘welfare fund’ last year. This money is typically used for rents, emergency food, gas, or electricity when someone has had their benefits stopped. The welfare fund also pays transport costs for people to reconnect with relatives, or contributes to transport costs for those struggling to get to work, and similar additional items that many of us would take for granted.”

Dee wishes to thank all participating pubs and restaurants, and their patrons without whom StreetSmart wouldn’t have gained the momentum it now has.

At Hampshire Life we’re keen to see StreetSmart grow. With the unprecedented number of votes in our Food and Drink Awards this year, we can see how passionate you all are about supporting local! We would urge local pubs and restaurants to participate in StreetSmart 2013, and for our readers to look for the StreetSmart logo when booking their Christmas meals and parties. We will keep an updated list here so watch this space.

To speak to Dee, e-mail: dee.russell@ssj.org.uk or call 02380 632524. To sign up visit www.streetsmart.org.uk/sign-up.php

***

Current participating venues are:

Limewood Hotel: www.limewoodhotel.co.uk
The Chestnut Horse: www.thechestnuthorse.com
The Globe: www.theglobealresford.com
Lainston House Hotel: www.lainstonhouse.com
Hotel Terravina: www.hotelterravina.co.uk
The Old Vine: www.oldvinewinchester.com
The Plough Inn: www.theploughinn.info
Careys Manor: www.careysmanor.com

Montagu Arms Hotel: www.montaguarmshotel.co.uk

The Purefoy Arms: www.thepurefoyarms.co.uk

The Bakers Arms: www.thebakersarmsdroxford.com

The Chesil Rectory: www.chesilrectory.co.uk

Greens Restaurant and Bar: www.greensrestaurant.co.uk



Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Hampshire